r/WeirdLit

11k subscribers


Weird Literature: For news, reviews, book discussion, and anything else pertaining to weird fiction. We cover everything from contemporary writers of the Weird, such as China Miéville, Kelly Link, M. John Harrison, K.J. Bishop, Eric Basso, and Jeff Vandermeer to foundational authors like H.P. Lovecraft, Alfred Kubin, Algernon Blackwood, Robert Chambers, and Jean Ray, to everyone in between.
https://reddit.com/r/WeirdLit/
sort by
best match
r/horrorlit
44k  subs
This is a place to discuss horror literature. Any book is up for discussion as long as that discussion is respectful. It doesn't matter if you're into Stephen King or Edward Lee, Jack Ketchum or Lovecraft, this is the place to share that love and discuss to your heart's content.
https://reddit.com/r/horrorlit/
r/Lovecraft
118k  subs
Dedicated to the works of H.P. Lovecraft, this is your stop for all of his outstanding works and weird fiction in general!
https://reddit.com/r/Lovecraft/
r/printSF
56k  subs
**A place to discuss published SF**—novels, short stories, comics, images, and more. Not sure if a book is SF? Then post it! Science Fiction, Fantasy, Alt. History, Postmodern Lit., and more are all welcome here. **The key is that it be speculative, not that it fit some arbitrary genre guidelines**. Any sort of link or text post is welcome as long as it is about printed / text / static SF material.
https://reddit.com/r/printSF/
r/literature
983k  subs
Welcome to /r/literature, a community for deeper discussions of plays, poetry, short stories, and novels. Discussions of literary criticism, literary history, literary theory, and critical theory are also welcome--strongly encouraged, even.
https://reddit.com/r/literature/
r/Fantasy
659k  subs
/r/Fantasy is the internet’s largest discussion forum for the greater Speculative Fiction genre. We welcome respectful dialogue related to speculative fiction in literature, games, film, and the wider world.
https://reddit.com/r/Fantasy/
r/horror
1m  subs
R/HORROR, known as Dreadit by our subscribers is the premier horror entertainment community on Reddit. For more than a decade /R/HORROR has been reddit.com's gateway to all things Horror: from movies & TV, to books & games.
https://reddit.com/r/horror/
r/writing
877k  subs
Discussions about the writing craft.
https://reddit.com/r/writing/
r/scifi
1m  subs
Science Fiction, or Speculative Fiction if you prefer. Fantasy too. Asimov, Bradbury, Clarke, Dick, Heinlein and other SF books. SF movies and TV shows. Fantasy stuff like Tolkien and Game of Thrones. Laser guns, space ships, and time travel. etc. Star Trek, Battlestar, Star Wars, etc.
https://reddit.com/r/scifi/
r/sciencefiction
112k  subs
This reddit is for fans and creators of Science Fiction and related media in any form. SF topics should involve plausible ideas reached through the rational application of science. General speculative fiction posts are fine as long as they involve Science Fiction.
https://reddit.com/r/sciencefiction/
r/suggestmeabook
583k  subs
Need an idea what to read next? Tell us what you've enjoyed in the past, or what you're looking for, and let the community suggest a book (or books) for you to read!
https://reddit.com/r/suggestmeabook/
This is exactly what it sounds like. In need of a good read? Let us know what you want and we guarantee you'll find a great book, or your money back.
https://reddit.com/r/booksuggestions/
r/twinpeaks
88k  subs
A subreddit for fans of David Lynch's and Mark Frost's wonderful and strange television series. We live inside a dream...
https://reddit.com/r/twinpeaks/
r/books
17m  subs
This is a moderated subreddit. It is our intent and purpose to foster and encourage in-depth discussion about all things related to books, authors, genres, or publishing in a safe, supportive environment. If you're looking for help with a personal book recommendation, consult our Weekly Recommendation Thread, Suggested Reading page, or ask in r/suggestmeabook.
https://reddit.com/r/books/
Time takes everything but the truth.
https://reddit.com/r/TrueDetective/
r/rpg
714k  subs
/r/rpg is for meaningful discussions, questions, and help for tabletop/pen & paper RPGs and LARPing.
https://reddit.com/r/rpg/
r/fantasywriters
120k  subs
This subreddit is dedicated to those of us who are writing in the fantasy genre. Anything related to creating your own works of fantasy is welcome.
https://reddit.com/r/fantasywriters/
r/comicbooks
957k  subs
A reddit for fans of comic books, graphic novels, and digital comics.
https://reddit.com/r/comicbooks/
r/TrueFilm
188k  subs
An in-depth discussion of film
https://reddit.com/r/TrueFilm/
r/occult
152k  subs
The Occult: News for armchair and practicing metaphysical skeptics.
https://reddit.com/r/occult/
The portal for public history
https://reddit.com/r/AskHistorians/
r/writers
50k  subs
All are welcome at r/writers: fiction writers, nonfiction writers, bloggers and more! Get critique on your work, share resources, ask questions and help fellow writers.
https://reddit.com/r/writers/
r/Poetry
478k  subs
Big Tent sub for all poetry related discussion
https://reddit.com/r/Poetry/
r/worldbuilding
439k  subs
For geeks and nerds, artists, writers, philosophers, politicians and scientists alike: The creation of new worlds and new universes has been a key element of science fiction and fantasy. It can also exist outside the realm of scifi-literature and RPG-gaming as a means of exploring possibilities. This subreddit is about sharing your worlds and discussing the many aspects of creating new ones.
https://reddit.com/r/worldbuilding/
r/boardgames
2m  subs
The #1 reddit source for news, information, and discussion about modern board games and board game culture. Join our community! Come discuss games like Codenames, Eldritch Horror, Terra Mystica, and your favorite games!
https://reddit.com/r/boardgames/
Can't remember the title of the book you've enjoyed reading? Crowdsource it to readers on Reddit!
https://reddit.com/r/whatsthatbook/
r/selfpublish
32k  subs
A place to discuss just about everything in the world of indie books. *Not* a place for self-promotion.
https://reddit.com/r/selfpublish/
r/52book
50k  subs
A subreddit for the participants of the 52 Book Challenge (one book per week for a year) to discuss their progress and discoveries.
https://reddit.com/r/52book/